Texas homeowners and renters in 31 additional counties
who suffered damage from the winter storm that recently struck Texas may
now apply for disaster assistance with FEMA.

If you have insurance and are applying for disaster assistance, you must
also file a claim with your insurance company as soon as possible. By law,
FEMA cannot duplicate benefits for losses covered by insurance. If
insurance does not cover all your damage, you may be eligible for federal

The fastest and easiest way to apply is by visiting

If it is not possible to register online, call 800-621-3362 (TTY:
800-462-7585). The toll-free telephone lines operate from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m.
CDT, seven days a week. Those who use a relay service such as a videophone,
Innocaption or CapTel should update FEMA with their specific number
assigned to that service.

*The 31 additional counties are:* Anderson, Austin, Bosque, Bowie, Burnet,
Cherokee, Colorado, Erath, Fannin, Freestone, Gonzalez, Grayson, Gregg,
Harrison, Hill, Houston, Hunt, Jackson, Jim Wells, Jones, Limestone,
Lubbock, Medina, Milam, Navarro, Rusk, Taylor, Tom Green, Val Verde,
Washington, and Wood.

When you apply for assistance, have the following information readily

 - A current phone number where you can becontacted
 - Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are
 now staying
 - Your Social Security number, if available
 - A general list of damage and losses
 - If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agent and company name

If it is safe to do so, start cleaning up now. Take photos to document
damage and begin cleanup and repairs to prevent further damage. Remember to
keep receipts from all purchases related to the cleanup and repair.

Disaster assistance may include financial assistance for temporary lodging
and home repairs, low-interest loans to cover uninsured property losses,
and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the
effects of the disaster.

The additional counties join the 77 counties previously approved for
disaster assistance. The counties are: Angelina, Aransas, Bastrop, Bee,
Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Brazos, Brown, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun,
Cameron, Chambers, Collin, Comal, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas, Denton,
DeWitt, Ellis, Falls, Fort Bend, Galveston, Gillespie, Grimes, Guadalupe,
Hardin, Harris, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hood, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson,
Kaufman, Kendall, Lavaca, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Maverick, McLennan,
Montague, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Nueces, Orange, Palo Pinto, Panola,
Parker, Polk, Rockwall, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Scurry, Shelby,
Smith, Stephens, Tarrant, Travis, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria,
Walker, Waller, Wharton, Wichita, Williamson, Wilson, and Wise.

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are
available to businesses, homeowners and renters. Call the SBA at
1-800-659-2955 (TTY: 800-877-8339) or visit


*FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.*

*Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color,
religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or
economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against,
call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585). Multilingual
operators are available. (Press 2 for Spanish). *